Transition work for Year 11 into Year 12

Message from Ms Stevens

To all prospective Year 12 students hoping to join Myton Sixth Form in September 2020

On this page, you will find the transition work for your sixth form subjects. You are expected to complete the work for the 3 or 4 subjects for which you have been offered a place at Myton Sixth Form.

Once you’ve completed the task, subjects have also provided reading lists to keep you engaged over the summer and further your understanding of the subject. Post-16 study is about going beyond what you learn in the classroom, so this is a good time to get started on wider reading.

Completion of this transition work is a requirement of you starting sixth form and shows your interest in the subjects you intend to study. It will also give you an insight into whether the subject is right for you. If you decide the subject is not right for you, you may be able to change once you have your results. Please do not contact the sixth form team regarding subject choice changes now – we will make any changes, if possible, after your GCSE results are released on Thursday 20 August.

If you have any queries regarding transition work, please contact the subject leader of the relevant subject. If you have any queries reading sixth form generally, please use sixthform@myton.co.uk

Good luck and we will look forward to seeing you in the new term.

Ms Stevens – Head of Sixth Form

Virtual Taster Day

Thank you to those of you who were able to participate in our Virtual Taster Day on 24 June 2020. We hope you found it useful.

You can view the presentations from the start and end of the Taster Day here:

Not going to Sixth Form?

If you’re not planning to go to Myton Sixth Form, Mr Coffey has put together some information and advice for you here: Information for students in Year 11 not intending to go to Myton Sixth Form

Transition work for Myton Sixth Form

Subject

Contact

Transition work

Applied Science Dr A Sarjeant – sarjeant.a@myton.co.uk Applied Science transition work
Art Mr Meredith – meredith.s@myton.co.uk Art transition work
Biology Mrs Stephenson – stephenson.l@myton.co.uk

Biology transition work – instructions

Biology transition pack

Business Studies Mrs Kirkwood – kirkwood.s@myton.co.uk

Business Studies transition work – instructions

Effect of coronavirus article

Chemistry Mr Wallis – wallis.p@myton.co.uk Chemistry transition work – instructions
Children’s Play, Learning and Development Mrs Phillips – phillips.j@myton.co.uk

Children’s Play, Learning and Development transition work

Children’s Play, Learning and Development – reading list

Computer Science Mr Johnson – johnson.s@myton.co.uk Computer Science transition work
Creative Digital Media Production (Digital Games Production) Mr Lowe – lowe.j@myton.co.uk Digital Games Production – transition work
Criminology Mrs Walkden – walkden.k@myton.co.uk

Criminology transition work – instructions 

Criminology – Media project outline

Criminology – transition project

Criminology – Summer work

Drama

Miss Arliss – arliss.a@myton.co.uk

Mrs Stringer – stringer.c@myton.co.uk

Drama transition work – instructions (Equus)

Drama transition work – instructions (Lysistrata)

Set text – Lysistrata

A level Drama sample paper

A level Drama exemplar materials

Economics Mrs Kirkwood – kirkwood.s@myton.co.uk

Economics transition work – instructions

World Economy

Effect of coronavirus article

Jobs at risk article

English Language & Literature Mrs  Heggs – heggs.t@myton.co.uk English Language & Literature – transition work
English Literature Mrs  Meredith – meredith.a@myton.co.uk

English Literature transition work – instructions

English Literature – reading list

English Literature – Making the Leap – activities

English Literature – Making the Leap – resources

Film Studies Mr Lowe – lowe.j@myton.co.uk

Film Studies transition work

365 essential films

Forensic & Criminal Investigation

Mrs Tonry – tonry.e@myton.co.uk

Mr Garner – garner.t@myton.co.uk

Forensic Science transition work
French Mrs Millington – millington.j@myton.co.uk French transition work
Geography Mrs M Hughes – hughes.m@myton.co.uk

Welcome to A level Geography

OCR Geography – course outline

Geography transition work – task 1

Geography transition work – task 2

Geography transition work – task 3

Geography transition work – task 4

Geography transition work – task 5

Geography transition work – task 6

Geography transition work – task 7

Geography transition work – task 8-11

Geo Factsheet – Specialised Concepts Part 1

Geo Factsheet – Specialised Concepts Part 2

German Ms Mort – mort.e@myton.co.uk German transition work
Health & Social Care Mrs Phillips – phillips.j@myton.co.uk Health & Social Care transition work
History Miss Reece – reece.l@myton.co.uk

History transition work – instructions

History A level – course overview

Tudors – booklet

Tudors – reading list

Russia – booklet

Russia – reading list

Information Technology Mrs Buxton – buxton.m@myton.co.uk

IT transition work – instructions

Fundamentals of IT

Cyber Security

Linguistics Mrs Ealden – ealden.n@myton.co.uk

Linguistics transition work – instructions

Linguistics activity pack

Linguistics Resource Pack

If you would like a zip folder of the following clips to be emailed to you, please contact the department.

Maths and Further Maths Mr Ealden – ealden.a@myton.co.uk

NEW New Induction Booklet

Maths and Further Maths – transition work

Media Studies Mr Lowe – lowe.j@myton.co.uk Media Studies – transition work
Music Ms Harrisson – harrisson.w@myton.co.uk

Music – transition work

Editable timeline (Word)

Editable listening log (Word)

Photography Mrs Thompson – thompson.e@myton.co.uk

Photography – transition work

www.mytondigitalphotography.weebly.com

Physical Education Miss Cole – cole.r@myton.co.uk

PE – welcome letter and useful resources

PE transition work – instructions

PE A level specification

Physics Mr Benjamin – benjamin.j@myton.co.uk Physics transition work – instructions
Politics Mr Sykes – sykes.m@myton.co.uk

Politics transition work – instructions

2016 EU Referendum

General Election 2017

General Election 2019

Politics – reading list

Product Design Mr Whiting – whiting.g@myton.co.uk Product Design – transition work
Psychology Miss Clark – clark.e@myton.co.uk Psychology transition booklet
Religious Studies (Philosophy, Ethics and Theology) Mrs Collings – collings.k@myton.co.uk Religious Studies – transition work
Sociology Mrs Walkden – walkden.k@myton.co.uk

Sociology transition work – instructions

Induction booklet

Class difference task

Sociology resource list

Sociology summer reading

Spanish Mrs Birch – birch.e@myton.co.uk Spanish transition work

 

NEWSLETTERS View our newsletter


NEWS