School Governors play a key role in the leadership of Myton School and work together with staff to make sure that the school provides a challenging and supportive environment for students.

If you wish to contact the Governing Body, please use the Contact us page and state who your message is for.


Chair of Governors: Mrs D Burley

Vice Chair: Mrs J Bessant/Ms S Windrum

Head Teacher: Mr A R Perry




Committee Chair/Lead

Attendance (2016-17)

Mr G Basi  Member Parent Governor

FGB: 2/4

Committee: 4/5

Mrs J Bessant  Member Parent Governor

Vice Chair of Governors

Lead for Behaviour, Welfare, Safeguarding & Vulnerable Students Committee

FGB: 4/4

Committee: 10/10

Mrs D Burley Member Parent Governor Chair of Governors, Safeguarding Governor

 FGB: 4/4

Committee: 10/12

Mrs J Fell Member Chair of Finance, Personnel and External Committee

 FGB: 4/4

Committee: 9/9

Mr S Larke Parent Governor

 FGB: 4/4

Committee: 4/9

Mr P Morley Parent Governor N/A
Mr D Leigh-Hunt

 FGB: 4/4

Committee: 2/4

Mrs L McWhirter Staff Governor

 FGB: 4/4

Committee: 4/4

Mr A R Perry Staff Governor

 FGB: 4/4

Committee: 12/13

Miss E Punj

 FGB: 3/4

Committee: 5/5

Ms L Roberts Parent Governor

 FGB: 4/4

Committee: 1/3

Professor James Robinson Parent Governor N/A
Mr W Tooze Parent Governor  N/A
Ms S Windrum  Member

Vice Chair of Governors

Lead for Achievement, Teaching and Learning Committee

 FGB: 3/4

Committee: 7/12

Patron – Mr Matt Western MP

To see a list of Governors’ business interests, please download the Register of Business Interests March 2018

Message from the Chair of Governors – Diane Burley

I became Chair of Governors in 2016 having been part of Myton’s Governing Body since 2006. I also fulfil the statutory role of Safeguarding Lead and have done so for a number of years.

When my eldest son attended Myton I joined FOMS (Friends of Myton School) and did this for several years. I then became a Parent Governor, holding the position of Chair of the Student Welfare Committee and, for three years, Vice Chair. My youngest son now attends the school.

I am a qualified nurse by profession and worked for 14 years in a senior position, working in a complex clinical specialty and managing a large number of staff.

I am passionate about Myton School and enjoy working in collaboration with staff to deliver outstanding, inclusive education to the young people in our community, with a curriculum that can evolve and is fit for purpose.

I aim to ensure that Governors are used according to their skills in order to appropriately support Myton’s leadership team. I believe the Governing Body best achieves the school’s aims through effective stakeholder relationships and by creating the space for the leadership team to use their expertise and professionalism.

Clerk to Governors

Please contact Governors c/o Mrs J Bishop, Clerk to Governors, Myton School, Myton Road, Warwick, CV34 6PJ

Sign in to the Governors’ secure area


NEWSLETTERS View our newsletter